Morro d’Alba is the only example, as far as Italy is concerned, of village-castle entirely surrounded by porches, whose hinges are placed in the walls.
Walking under the hanging portico, the three aspects of the Marches’ landscape can be admired: the sea, the Apennines and the waving line described by the hills.
Height 199 m.
Morro d’Alba has ancient origins. Historically, it goes back about the year one thousand but the countryside was already inhabited during the Roman age.
During the Longobard period, Morro d’Alba must have been the seat of an administration center, responsible for the whole surrounding territory; afterwards, it became an important point of exchange and trade.
The name Morro draws its name from the pre-roman age (“moor” or “murr” = Rise) and it indicates a prominent hill, as other villages belonging to this area.
Since 1213, it had developed as a castle and joined the rural area of Jesi, as the Commune of Senigallia renounced all rights on it.
In 1862/1863, d’Alba was added to the ancient original name, as it was thought that an ancient town called “Alba Picena” or “Alba Marina” existed in the nearby, but there’s no proof of its real existence.
What to visit
A walk along the Town Walls (XIV century) offers a vivid and unique path, from where you can admire wonderful foreshortenings and landscapes. The covered raised walking known as “LA Scarpa” (The Shoe )* (XVII century) is typical of this village.
*translator’ s note
Utensilia – It is a unique museum that shows to the visitors the whole ergonomic development accomplished by the share croppers and craftsmen in the production of agricultural implements or domestic tools. There are several kinds of leather and other skins, textile fibres, semi precious and precious stones, metals; in short, all the raw materials used in the manufacturing of ploughs, looms, casks, carts and household-furniture.
The Church of St.Gaudenzio – It was built in the XVIII century and enriched with the paintings of Silvio Galimberti and fifteen oval paintings, representing the “Rosary’s Misteries” (XVI-XVII century).
The Church of Holy Sacrament – It was built in the XVII century and there are kept the Church ornaments and vestments of the homonymous Confraternity and a painting of Bernabeo Francioni, representing the “Annunciation”
The Grape Festival – Middle of September
The Lacrima Festival – 1st Sunday of May
The Cantamaggio – 3rd Sunday of May, draws many singers, even foreign groups, to celebrate the springtime. On this occasion the great local wines are served.
Where to stay in Iesi
Hotels, B&Bs, villas and country houses: search and make reservations here.
Where to stay in Morro d’Alba
Hotels, apartmentss, villas and country houses: search and make reservations here.